Tags

, , , , , ,

Some of you may already know that my beloved hubby suffered a debilitating  stroke in mid-April, 2013.  At the tender age of 64 he was NOT ready to take this lying down but still he needed a 24/7 caretaker…ME!  Since his paralysis was on his dominant right side he couldn’t do the simple things in life…hence I did it all for him…at the detriment to my artistic soul.

BUT…there is a bright side to all of this…I FINALLY started an Art Journal…something I had fought against for years.  Since I’ve had my own studio since age 22 I always did my ART in my STUDIO at my EASEL or DRAWING TABLE…who wanted a journal that you could take everywhere?  As it turned out…ME!  Since my addiction to the Gelli plate started about the same time it made perfect sense to put the two together!  I could grab some studio time to work with the gelli plate and then sit with him while I drew & colored the pages…Hence these whimsical pieces brought to life the Journal and the Gelli!

Dawn DeVries Sokol on her blog dawndsokol.squarespace is in the midst of planning a book on journaling…I think I’m a candidate for how a journal can save your sanity so these are the pages I’ll be submitting.  As always…comments are welcome…and in this case…NEEDED.  I’d love to hear if you journal and if you do did you find it as hard to start as I did?  OH…I have to mention here that these also inspired an online course that I’ll be teaching from August 5th to 9th 2013 on Art Demos.  Sometimes things in life do take you by surprise! Going off to have a wonderful day…hope you are too!!!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Some of these pieces were inspired by my participation in the classes being given by Mindy Lacefield of Tim’sSally…for those of you who are taking the year long class, I can bet you’ll be able to tell which ones 🙂

